welcome

Hi!

IMG_20120804_121711My name is Emily. I am 16 years old,and live in pa. I have created this blog to mainly share my love for cycling (especially mountain biking and cyclocross) with other kids.

I began my love for biking when i was 5. I remember being on my Trek tag along with just one wheel ,pedals,and handle bars attached to my dad’s seat post. We would always be riding through the woods as fast as we could, going over logs and having so much fun. It was that feeling of making that first log over and hopping over the first barrier that got me hooked.

Most people would think biking is a male dominated sport, but i have to disagree… kind of. The prizes and classes are pretty much made to benefit the men. And, it is true that there aren’t as many women mountain bikers as there are guys. Sadly not a lot of girls my age mountain bike or do cyclocross. So, I do have to race against the boys a lot of the times. BUT, I have seen a lot more women on the trails and at races the last few years. AND…I know a lot of tough women who kick butt in the sport!

Through cycling, I have met a lot of amazing women who I aspire to be like when I am older. These ladies show that you can be well educated,work hard, be sweet, run a company, run a house, be a mom and yet shred the trails, rip the downhills,and rock the rock gardens while still looking fabulous. They also show that a woman can pass a guy going both uphill and downhill. If you are a guy, it’s called being “chicked”. And it is nothing to be ashamed of.

The biking community is more like a family if anything. We look out for each other despite competing against one another on the weekend. After races, you usually see people from different teams under the same tent sharing food, drinks, laughs and stories. It’s one of the reasons I love biking so much.

I have gotten to travel to so many cool places because of cycling. One of my favorite places was downhilling at Lake Placid in NY. And I’ve gotten to eat fresh caught lobtser and race along the beach in MA.

Biking means a lot to me and I hope to share my love for it with y’all. In the future I will post more about training,races,gear,practice,and the cool people I meet. Until next time, I’m off…. over the barriers and through the woods.

em_fc

One of my first mountain bike races. 2007ish.

3 thoughts on “welcome

  1. When are you going to post something new young lady? We are all waiting to see what adventure you are on now! Keep writing! Love the waterfall picture btw….

    Like

  2. Emily, when you were the little kid on our team, I remember thinking, “wow, she has so much enthusiasm and heart! I hope she doesn’t burn out before we get a chance to see her shine…”
    Needless to say, you haven’t burned out (thank goodness) and it’s been so exciting to watch you grow as a cyclist. Keep it up & welcome to the blogosphere 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment